2021-04138 - Post-Doctoral Research Visit F/M Towards a unified energy-efficient MAC layer for multitechnology sensor networks

Contract type : Fixed-term contract

Level of qualifications required : PhD or equivalent

Fonction : Post-Doctoral Research Visit

About the research centre or Inria department

The Inria Lille - Nord Europe research centre, created in 2008, has a staff of 320, including 280 scientists in 14 research teams. Recognised for its strong involvement in the socio-economic development of the Hauts-De-France region, the Inria Lille - Nord Europe research centre pursues a close relationship with large companies and SMEs. By promoting synergies between researchers and industrialists, Inria participates in the transfer of skills and expertise in digital technologies and provides access to the best European and international research for the benefit of innovation and companies, particularly in the region.

For the past 10 years, the Inria Lille - Nord Europe centre has been located at the heart of Lille's university and scientific ecosystem, as well as at the heart of Frenchtech, with a technology showroom based on Avenue de Bretagne in Lille, on the EuraTechnologies site of economic excellence dedicated to information and communication technologies (ICT).

Context

The FUN research group investigates solutions to enhance programmability, adaptability and reachability of FUN (Future Ubiquitous Networks) composed of RFID, wireless sensor and robot networks. The objects that compose FUN are characterized by limited resources, high mobility and high security level in spite of untrusted environment.They communicate in a wireless way. To be operational and efficient, such networks have to follow some self-organizing rules. Indeed, components of FUN have to be able in a distributed and energy-efficient way to discover the network, self(deploy, communicate, self-structure in spite of their harware constraints while adapting the environment in which they evolve.

The FUN team is looking for a 12-month postdoc on the topic "Towards a unified and eco-energetic MAC layer for multi-technology networks and sensors".

Assignment

This offer is part of a collaboration with the company GoodFlow, the University of Rennes and the Mines Telecom Institute. The objective of the GoodFloow project is to develop a solution for monitoring and managing reusable tertiary packaging that would be positioned as an eco-solution in an industrial environment where disposable packaging is very dominant (>80%). In the industrial packaging sector, the transition from disposable to reusable packaging is slowed down, or even prevented, mainly for reasons of traceability and stock management, which greatly reduces the profitability of the investment. The GoodFloow project aims to remove these barriers by developing an IoT solution, integrating artificial intelligence (AI) embedded in reusable packaging, and a cloud-based software solution for managing flows and alerts (also based on AI).

In this context, the Inria FUN team is in charge of designing the MAC layer of communicating devices. This MAC layer has to be energy efficient and therefore has to mutualise the neighbourhood discovery of each technology and to interact with the AI and radio wake up modules.

Main activities

The postdoc will be in charge of:

- Design a multi-technology MAC layer

- Participate in the ADEME GoodFlow project 

- Implement and validate experimentally his/her research results

- Participate in the integration of his/her contributions to the final product

Skills

  • Knowledge in wireless networks and security mechanisms
  • Knowledge in IoT and MAC layer mechanisms
  • Skills in Simulation tools and development
  • Skills in C and python

 

  • English speaking
  • Autonomy
  • Open minded
  • Team working
  • Capacity to write English reports and papers
  • Sense of organization, autonomy, rigor

Benefits package

You will integrate a dynamic team of international scientific experts in the field of IoT (http://team.inria.fr/fun/)  

You will work on emerging research activities with recognized international IoT actors.

You will work in a stimulating and pleasant work environment (transport participation (50%), on-site catering, teleworking, leave and special leave of absence (45 days), video conference equipment, technical laboratory for experimentation ...)

You can benefit from quality training adapted to your needs and skills, whether technical, methodological or linguistic. 

In addition to improving your technical skills, Inria offers you the opportunity to develop your entrepreneurial skills by participating in awareness-raising events and training courses on the creation of start-ups (start-up horizon, intellectual property training, hackAthec, etc.). https://www.inria.fr/fr/inria-startup-studio

For international candidates, our administrative services will help you with the various administrative procedures (visa, residence permit, social security, housing, bank, etc.)

Remuneration

2 653 € gross salary (before taxes)

2021-04138 - Post-Doctorant F/H Vers une couche MAC unifiée et eco-energétique pour les réseaux de capteurs multitechnologie.

Type de contrat : CDD

Niveau de diplôme exigé : Thèse ou équivalent

Fonction : Post-Doctorant

A propos du centre ou de la direction fonctionnelle

Le centre de recherche Inria Lille – Nord Europe, créé en 2008, compte 320 personnes dont 280 scientifiques répartis dans 14 équipes de recherche. Reconnu pour son implication forte dans le développement socio-économique sur le territoire des Hauts-De-France, le centre de recherche Inria Lille – Nord Europe poursuit une démarche de proximité avec les grandes entreprises et les PME. En favorisant ainsi les synergies entre chercheurs et industriels, Inria participe au transfert de compétences et d’expertises dans les technologies numériques et donne accès aux meilleures recherches européennes et internationales au bénéfice de l’innovation et des entreprises notamment en région.

Depuis 10 ans, le centre Inria Lille – Nord Europe est installé au cœur de l’écosystème universitaire et scientifique lillois ainsi qu’au cœur de la Frenchtech avec un showroom technologique, basé avenue de Bretagne à Lille, sur le site d’excellence économique consacré aux technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) qu’est EuraTechnologies.

Contexte et atouts du poste

L'équipe FUN étudie des solutions pour rendre plus utilisables (en termes de programmation, d'adaptation ou d'insertion dans les systèmes informatiques classiques) les réseaux ubiquitaires du futur (FUN - Future Ubiquitous Networks) qui se composent de réseaux de capteurs et de robots sans fil et RFID. Les objets qui composent les FUN sont caractérisés par des ressources limitées, une grande mobilité et un besoin de sécurité malgré un environnement non fiable. Pour être opérationnels, de tels réseaux doivent suivre des règles d'auto-organisation. En effet, les entités des FUN doivent pouvoir de manière distribuée et peu couteuse en energie découvrir le réseau, s'auto-déployer, communiquer, s'auto-structurer en dépit de leurs contraintes matérielles tout en s'adaptant à l'environnement dans lequel ils évoluent.

L'équipe FUN recherche un(e) postdoc d'une durée de 12 mois sur la thématique "vers une couche MAC unifiée et éco-energétique pour les réseaux et capteurs multitechnologie"

Mission confiée

Cette offre s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une collaboration avec la société GoodFlow, l’université de Rennes et l’institut Mines Telecom. Le projet GoodFloow a pour objectif de développer une solution de suivi et de gestion des d’emballages tertiaires réutilisables qui se positionnerait comme une éco- solution dans un environnement industriel où les emballages jetables dominent très largement (> 80 %). Dans le secteur des emballages industriels, le passage du jetable au réutilisable est freiné, voire empêché, principalement pour des raisons de traçabilité et de gestion des stocks qui dégrade fortement la rentabilité de l’investissement. Le projet GoodFloow a pour objectif de lever ces verrous en développant d’une part une solution IoT, intégrant une intelligence artificielle (IA) embarquée sur les emballages réutilisables, et d’autre part une solution logicielle « cloud » pour la gestion des flux et des alertes (reposant également sur une IA).

Dans ce contexte, l’équipe Inria FUN est en charge de la conception de la couche MAC des dispositifs communicants. Cette couche MAC se doit d’être économe en énergie et se doit donc de mutualiser la découverte de voisinage de chaque technologie et d’intéragir avec les modules IA et wake up radio.

Principales activités

Le postdoctorant sera en charge de :

  • Concevoir une couche MAC multitechnologie
  • Participer au projet ADEME GoodFlow
  • Implementer et valider de façon expérimentale ses résultats de recherche
  • Participer à l’intégration de ses contributions au produit final

Compétences

  • Connaissance des réseaux sans fil et des mécanismes de sécurité
  • Connaissance de l'IoT et des mécanismes de la couche MAC
  • Compétences en outils de simulation et développement
  • Compétences en C et python

 

  • Anglais
  • Autonomie
  • Ouverture d'esprit
  • Travail en équipe
  • Capacité à rédiger des rapports et des documents en anglais
  • Sens de l'organisation, autonomie, rigueur

Avantages

Vous intégrerez une équipe dynamique d'experts scientifiques internationaux dans le domaine de l'IoT (http://team.inria.fr/fun/). 

Vous travaillerez sur des activités de recherche émergentes avec des acteurs internationaux reconnus de l'IoT.

Vous travaillerez dans un environnement de travail stimulant et agréable (participation aux transports (50%), restauration sur place, télétravail, congés et autorisations spéciales d'absence (45 jours), équipement de visioconférence, laboratoire technique d'expérimentation...).

Vous pouvez bénéficier d'une formation de qualité adaptée à vos besoins et à vos compétences, qu'elles soient techniques, méthodologiques ou linguistiques.

En plus d'améliorer vos compétences techniques, Inria vous offre la possibilité de développer vos compétences entrepreneuriales en participant à des événements de sensibilisation et à des formations sur la création de start-up (horizon start-up, formation à la propriété intellectuelle, hackAthec, etc.). https://www.inria.fr/fr/inria-startup-studio

Pour les candidats internationaux, nos services administratifs vous aideront dans vos différentes démarches administratives (visa, permis de séjour, sécurité sociale, logement, banque, etc.)

Rémunération

2 653€ brut mensuel